LONDON – Deepesh Patel, editorial director at Trade Finance Global (TFG) – the world’s leading trade finance platform – has been appointed to the ESG Committee of the International Trade and Forfaiting Association (ITFA).

ITFA’s new ESG Committee is chaired by Johanna Wissing, director at Credit Suisse and head of ESG at ITFA, and will focus on three pillars in environmental, social, and governmental issues:

  • Education – Studying and forming best practices in ESG for trade, collaborating with the technology and environmental science industries, and issuing policy updates to support a just and equal green transition.
  • Standardisation – With multiple standards, taxonomies, and ESG rating methodologies available, the committee will attempt to develop a recognised framework for the trade and finance industries.
  • Advocacy – The committee will promote ESG initiatives in trade and finance, and will liaise with regulators on behalf of ITFA members to drive inclusion of ESG considerations in capital models.

Deepesh Patel, editorial director at TFG, said: “There has never been a greater focus on transparency and sustainability in supply chains and any conversation around sustainable finance must include international trade finance.

“The industry needs to step up and take action on ESG.

“I’m delighted to join ITFA’s committee under the leadership of Johanna Wissing, focussing on the three pillars of education, standardisation and advocacy.”

In a press statement, ITFA said it welcomes close dialogue with all its members and industry professionals on ESG initiatives, and it seeks to join forces with other industry bodies to pool ESG knowledge and resources.

At present, the ESG Committee is made up of 16 professionals from a variety of backgrounds, including banking, fintech, insurance, research, and asset management.

A full list of committee members can be found below:

Alexander Malaket – OPUS Advisory Services International Inc.
Deepesh Patel – Trade Finance Global (TFG)
George Pitcher – Marsh Specialty
Georgina Stevens – JP Morgan
Gwynne Master – Lloyds Bank Commercial Banking
Jay Mukhey – Finastra
Johanna Wissing – Credit Suisse (Switzerland) Ltd. – ESG Chairperson
Lucio Feijo Lopes – Feijo Lopes Advogados
Rudolf Putz – European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (EBRD)
Natasa Ruiter – ING Bank N.V.
N L N Swaroop – HSBC
Paul Monigatti – AKA Ausfuhrkredit-Gesellschaft mbH
Shikha Kalra – Demica
Rebecca Harding – Coriolis Technologies Ltd.
Roberto Leva – Asian Development Bank (ADB)
Suresh Hegde – NN Investment Partners

Keep up to date with the latest news and content around sustainable trade finance in TFG’s newly released hub, here.