Estimated reading time: 1 minute

After weeks of speculation, and a last-minute stalemate, the BRICS group of nations has extended an invite to six additional countries. The new countries are Argentina, Egypt, Iran, Ethiopia, Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates.

While the original BRICS bloc members largely agreed on the idea of expansion, there was extensive debate on the details. On the last night of the summit, Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi submitted new admission criteria for new countries.

According to BRICS country officials, the new criteria stated that new members could not be the subject of international sanctions and set a minimum per capital GDP requirement.

The new criteria proposed by Prime Minister Modi likely were not adopted by the bloc, as an invitation was extended to Iran, which is currently subject to international sanctions.

As of August, over 40 countries expressed interest in joining the group, and over 22 formally asked to be admitted. Ultimately, the BRICS bloc wrapped up the summit by extending an invitation to a more modest number of 6 new countries.