The Department for International Trade has announced its new advisers to the Board of Trade, comprising of senior figures from business, academia and government.

Board members and advisers will meet quarterly and use their influence to help Britain make a stronger case for free trade on the international stage, helping the government forge a stronger global consensus for free trade at a time of increased protectionism.

The Board will engage extensively with industry, communities, farmers and consumer groups across the UK, to ensure a range of voices are heard as the UK develops its independent trade policy. The Board will also encourage more businesses across the UK regions and nations to boost their international trade.

The new advisers to the Board are announced at an important time for UK trade policy and as negotiations with the US, Japan, Australia and New Zealand enter their crucial latter stages – although advisers to the Board will have no direct role in striking trade deals.

The Board will represent a range of views to help in its advisory function, promoting free and fair trade and advising on UK trade policy to the International Trade Secretary.

Secretary of State for International Trade, Liz Truss said:

The new Board of Trade will play an important role in helping Britain make the case for free and fair trade across the UK and around the world.

At a time of increased protectionism and global insecurity, it’s vital that the UK is a strong voice for open markets and that we play a meaningful role in reshaping global trading rules alongside like-minded countries.

The new Board will help us do that, bringing together a diverse group of people who share Britain’s belief in free enterprise, democracy, and high standards and rules-based trade.

Dr. Linda Yueh, economist at Oxford University, London Business School and LSE IDEAS, said:

I am honoured to advise on trade policy at this important time. Trade will play a key role in supporting the UK’s economic growth.

I look forward to working with other advisers to bring our expertise to the Board.

Further information:

Membership of the Board of Trade is restricted to Privy Councillors.

The President of the Board of trade is:

(i) Secretary of State for Department of International Trade

(ii) Deputy President, Marcus Fysh MP

Advisers to the Board

The advisers are:

  • Secretary of State for Scotland
  • Secretary of State for Northern Ireland
  • Secretary of State for Wales
  • Minister for Trade Policy (invited when relevant to Ministerial portfolio)
  • Minister for Investment (invited when relevant to Ministerial portfolio)
  • Minister for Exports (invited when relevant to Ministerial portfolio)
  • Minister for International Trade (invited when relevant to Ministerial portfolio)
  • The Hon Tony Abbott
  • Karen Betts
  • Anne Boden MBE
  • Daniel Hannan
  • Rt Hon Patricia Hewitt
  • Emma Howard Boyd
  • Michael Liebreich
  • Rt Hon the Lord Mayor of the City of London, William Russell
  • Dr Linda Yueh